The Red Lipstick

My fabulous world of beauty and makeup…

Wear-to-work/ Everyday look

Hello you beautiful makeup enthusiasts,

As I promised, I am back with a tutorial on wear-to-work/ everyday makeup look. It is a very subtle yet chic look which can be worn to work. So what is different about this tutorial? Well, I understand that not everyone wants to buy expensive products especially the ones who are still learning so in this tutorial I have tried to use all inexpensive products. This is a tutorial requested by a dear friend Sowmyatta Bhardwaj who herself is an amazing blogger. Do check out her blog: sowmyatta.blogspot.com.

Alright, so let’s get started.

I started by moisturizing my face with Olay active hydrating beauty fluid, followed by M.A.C prep+prime skin base. Let the skin absorb the product for 3 minutes.

Then I applied Revlon colorstay liquid foundation for combination/oily skin in shade ‘Rich Tan’ with MUFE duo fibre brush 55N in small circular motion to give an air-brush finish.

Then instead of a concealer I used Revlon colorstay foundation in shade ‘True Beige’ under the eyes and spread it with a fluffy brush and blend it with small duo fibre brush.

Next, I applied Revlon Photoready powder  in shade Light/Medium over the areas where I applied ‘True Beige’ foundation. This will a matte finish to all the foundation that you have used till now.

Note: I am not posting pictures of the foundation application because I intend to do a tutorial on my foundation routine.

Now to do the eyes, start with applying Urban Decay eyeshadow primer potion in shade ‘Eden’.

For eyeshadow, I used BH Cosmetics 88 neutral eyeshadow palette. The drawback of this palette is that it doesn’t have names for its eyeshadows. So, I will number the shade and put a picture to show what shade I have used. You could use the same palette or a similar kind of eyeshadow for this look.

1.

BH Cosmetics 88 neutral eyeshadow palette

Shade no. 1

Shade no.1 applied on the lid area

Shade no.1 on the lid area

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

First, I applied the above shade no.1 (sort of milky white) on to the lid area with M.A.C 239 eye shader brush.

 

 

 

2.

Shade no. 2

Shade no. 2 on the crease area

Shade no.2 on crease area

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then, I applied shade no.2 (slight orangish-brown color) on to the crease using Kirkland Borghese angled eye contour brush. Then using a clean M.A.C 217 blending brush I merged both the shades so that there are no harsh lines visible.

 

 

3.

Shade no. 3

Shade no. 3 applied on the outer corner of the eyes.

Shade no. 3 applied on the outer corner of the eyes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then, I applied shade no. 3 (bronzish color) on the outer corner of the eyes using a M.A.C 219 pencil brush. Then, using a clean M.A.C 224 tapered blending brush I blend all the shades together.

 

 

4.

Shade no.4

Shade no.4 used as a highlighter over the brow bone.

Shade no. 4 used as a highlighter over the brow bone.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next, I used shade no.4 as a highlighter on the brow bone using M.A.C 224 tapered blending brush.

 

 

5.

Applied Revlon colorstay kohl liner halfway on the upper lash line and lower water line.

Applied Revlon colorstay eyeliner halfway on the upper lash line and lower water line.

Revlon colorstay eyeliner halfway on upper and lower lash line.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next, I applied a thin line of Revlon colorstay eyeliner in black halfway over the upper lash line and halfway on the lower water line.

 

 

6.

Applied Revlon CustomEyes mascara in blackened brown

Applied Revlon CustomEyes mascara in blackened brown.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next, I finished off the eyes by applying Revlon CustomEyes mascara in shade blackened brown on setting Length+Definition.

 

 

7.

Applied M.A.C bronzing powder in matte bronze to contour cheekbones and jawline.

Applied Maybelline forever lipstick in shade sand

Applied M.A.C blush in shade coppertone on the apples of cheek.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next, I contoured my face by applying M.A.C Bronzing powder in shade ‘Matte Bronze’ using Kirkland Borghese angled blush brush. I applied it on the hollows of the cheek, under the jaw line and sides of the forehead. This gives an instant slimmer look to the face 😉

Then I used M.A.C blush in shade ‘Coppertone’ by dusting it on to the apples of cheek using a Kirkland Borghese blush brush.

Next, I used Maybelline Forever lipstick in shade ‘Sand’ on the lips.

Last but not the least, I dusted Make up Forever HD setting powder to set the makeup using a M.A.C Kabuki brush.

So, here is the entire look….

Loving it!

you like?

🙂

without flash.

Final look of the eyes.

I hope you guys like this tutorial. Please leave comments/suggestions or whatever you feel like. I just love to hear from you guys!

Summary of products used:

Face:

M.A.C prep+prime skin base.

Revlon colorstay liquid foundation for combination/oily skin in shade ‘Rich Tan’.

Revlon colorstay foundation in shade ‘True Beige’.

Revlon Photoready powder  in shade Light/Medium.

M.A.C Bronzing powder in shade ‘Matte Bronze’.

M.A.C blush in shade ‘Coppertone’.

Make up Forever HD setting powder.

Lips:

Maybelline Forever lipstick in shade ‘Sand’.

Eyes:

BH Cosmetics 88 neutral eyeshadow palette.

Revlon colorstay eyeliner.

Revlon CustomEyes mascara in shade blackened brown on setting Length+Definition.

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “Wear-to-work/ Everyday look

  1. You look so beautiful. Very cleary explained. I will try the tips and let you know. Awesome job!

  2. Without flash tells you the right picture which is totally flawless

  3. makeupobsessions on said:

    Love this. ❤

  4. Karissa on said:

    Prapti,
    You are gorgeous and your makeup application is impeccable! Fantastic ideas and inspiration. Thanks so much for following me!! Looking forward to your future posts!

  5. Thanks for your subscription and comment on my blog! I’m loving your blog already – well organized and very thorough. Beautiful look!

  6. Hi, I really like your Blog and just subscribed. That was a great tutorial and very easy to understand with all the great pics.

    I have just recently started blogging myself. Check out my blog if you get a spare moment. http://www.thepinkpowderpuff.blogspot.com

  7. Love it!!! Thank you Prapti 🙂 this will come in very handy!

  8. I really like this lok!! its so soft and natural! perfect!!!!Can u do a tutorial pn how to apply concealer specifically under the eyes ?

Leave a Reply

