The Red Lipstick

My fabulous world of beauty and makeup…

The most underrated makeup product – Mascara!

In my opinion Mascara is the most underrated product of all the makeup products out there (especially amongst Indian girls). Most women believe that this product is only for those who have short and thin lashes and want to make their lashes look thicker and longer BUT I beg to differ! Mascara adds a new dimension to your eyes and makes it appear wider and bigger. It doesn’t matter what kind of lashes you have short, thin, long or thick..a mascara will only beautify it. I too was a skeptic until I tried out the amazing variety of mascara’s that are available in the market and the huge difference it made to my entire look. This is one product is my absolute favorite and without which my makeup is incomplete. Whether you like natural, length, volume or definition..there is a mascara for every girl out there!

In this post, I am going to explain how I prep my lashes and the steps in which I apply my mascara. Also, I have created a mix of mascara formulas that are available in the market and how it makes my lashes appear after application. This will also be a sort of mini review of the products and I am hoping by doing this it may become easier for you to choose the right mascara for yourself.

The first step is to curl your eyelashes.

For natural curl– Place the curler at the base of the lashes ( make sure you do it carefully and not hurt yourself) and press the curler for about 3 seconds. This is good enough step to get a decent curl in your lashes.

After curling once at the base of lashes for natural curl

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For dramatic curl – Place the curler in the middle of lashes and press again for 3 seconds. For further drama, place curler just behind the tip of lashes and press again for 3 seconds.

It is perfectly fine to use a lash primer before applying mascara but I personally don’t use it so I will not be including a step to prime lashes.

To apply mascara start from the root and wiggle your way up to the tip. Wiggling is an important step to keep the lashes separate.

 

So, the first mascara I am going to show is Christian Dior’s Diorshow mascara in black 090 (thickening+lengthening+curling). This mascara does what it promises and it doesn’t clump. It is one of my favorites but it has two drawbacks – it dries up very quickly and it has a thick wand which makes it difficult to do precision work on your lashes. This mascara definitely is worth a try for girls who are looking for volume, length and drama. It retails at USD 24.50.

After one coat of CD diorshow mascara

After second application of CD Diorshow mascara

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In just two applications you can see the difference. I personally apply 5-6 coats of this mascara for more drama (which is forbidden in a perfect mascara world where only a maximum of three coats is considered good but who goes by the rules and trust me the results are more than amazing) which makes it very difficult to remove even with a make up remover.

 

The next mascara is a drugstore brand which I heard rave reviews about and had to try it. It is L’Oréal Voluminous million lashes mascara in black/noir (Volume). Well, this mascara does provide the volume it promises but it is not one of my favorites. It has very wet gel based formula which clumps in the first application. It has an oscillating a.k.a flexible wand (which i hate, worst technology ever) and takes forever to dry. The good thing about this mascara is that it’s easy to remove. It retails at USD 8.99.

After first application of L'Oréal ML mascara

After second application of L'Oréal ML mascara

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As it is visible in the pictures, it adds volume but also clumped my lashes and make it appear as if I have very few lashes. This mascara may work for women with thin and short lashes.

 

Next mascara is one of my favorites for defined lashes. It is M.A.C’s studio fix lash mascara in black (Definition+Volume). This one mascara is a winner for women who want defined and voluminous lashes. It has long and thin wand with very tiny bristles which helps in a smooth application from root to tip without clumping. The formula is very pigmented and feels very light on lashes. This mascara is easy to remove and retails at USD 15.00.

After first application of M.A.C studio fix lash

After second application of M.A.C studio fix lash

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is the perfect mascara for definition and volume. It is a good choice for day wear or wear-to-work.

 

Next mascara is another drugstore brand which I just picked up because it had a unique wand. It is Revlon Customeyes™ in blackest black (length+definition and length+drama). It has a flexible wand with the two settings and I tried it with length and definition setting and I was surprised at the results. It was above my expectations. The formula was wet but applied without clumping and dried quickly. I was more than happy to get this result from a drugstore brand. It feels light on the lashes keeping the length and definition intact. The mascara was easy to remove and retails at USD 8.99.

After first application of Revlon Customeyes™

After second application of Revlon Customeyes™

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is a very good option for those who don’t want to spend too much on a mascara and you get two looks for the price of one..yayy!

 

Next is a drugstore mascara which all girls rave about. It is Covergirl lash blast fusion in very black 800 (Volume+Length). It does what it claims to do. It has very light formula which I loved. It has short and thick wand and pretty spikey bristles so gotta be careful while applying. All in all I now understand why everyone swears by this mascara. This is a perfect drugstore brand to achieve volume and length. I highly recommend this one. It was easy to remove and retails at USD 8.99.

After first application of Covergirl lash blast fusion mascara

After second application of Covergirl lash blast fusion mascara

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This would be one of my favorite drugstore brand choices.

 

Next is the drugstore mascara I bought because I love dramatic eyelashes. It is Maybelline Volum’ express falsies mascara in blackest black. (False lash effect). I love this mascara. Although you need skill to apply this one because it tends to get clumped and needs at least 5-6 application for the falsies effect but if you do figure out a way this is best drugstore mascara for drama. It has a flexible spoon-shaped wand for smooth root to tip application. It is not so easy to remove and retails at USD 7.99.

After first application of Maybelline Volum' express falsies mascara

After second application of Maybelline Volum' express falsies mascara

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As you can see it doesn’t show much in first two applications. It would only be a good option if you don’t want to spend a lot for dramatic eyes.

 

So, I hope the above information will help you choose your type better.

Let me know how you like this post or if you have any questions. I’ll be happy to answer. 🙂

Note: You can apply as many coats of mascara to achieve your desired look. I have shown only two coats to give a fair idea.

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “The most underrated makeup product – Mascara!

  1. I did not think that different mascara’s can have such different effect on eyes. Your blog depicts it beautifully. I love the dramatic look that Loreal’s mascara provide. I know what I am buying next!

  2. Again you have magically revealed the secret of an eye makeup , very informative i am sure many girls will find it useful , one suggestion i would love to give you is tht wat safety measures one should take while using all these products ,write sumthing about tht too cheerss n keep on painting……

  3. Shweta Gavali on said:

    Beautiful and detailed explanation Praprti. Makeup is an art, and a talented artist like you not only inspires to build in a confidence but also helps to bring out the inner Diva that we have within us.

    Until today I never knew that there are so good and wonderful steps to be followed to get the eye make over. This blog definitely helps a lot. Thanks for the pics too.

    Personally I am very lazy and impatient at getting ready for an outing, but after reading your blog I am developing an interest to have a good make over done before I step out for an outing.

    Keep posting :-)…….Also my next request would be on Lips (Liner + Lipstick) application for both Matt and Glossy look.

    Cheers n Thanks
    Shweta

    • Shweta…Thank you so much darling!! Your compliments have put me on cloud 9. I am glad that my blog has sparked some interest in you for makeup.
      I will definitely do a tutorial for lips. Once again, thank you for your lovely encouraging words.

  4. wow

    Prapti this is great i mean its a lot of work reviewing so many products with pictures provided, you really deserve a hug for this .

    And your reviews works great for girls like us who are scared or i say lazy enough to spent time and money to go through the right product for us and your blog help cutting short our list , it was diifcult to get an acceptable looks even with the right products(not the right brand to be mentioned) but now its good to have a Subject Matter Expertise available 🙂 ,and more we get to know about the products the more inspiring it gets.

    i have always struggled getting a perfect mascara as i really like using it ,as this is the only makeup product i dont need to concious while applying 😛 ,and you really helped getting me to the perfect mascara i was looking for .I will try the M.A.C you mentioned ..

    looking forward for more looks, and pls post some quick looks which we can do on day to day basis.

    keep writing .. 🙂
    Nancy

    • Thank you Nancy! I am so happy that you found my post useful. I hope that this builds your interest in makeup and bring you out of your lazy shell…hehehe 😛
      On a serious note, I want you to wear some makeup next time for me….so that I know you practically did it. I have noted down your request so watch out for a post on the same.

  5. Hey Prapti, Great work!! Though am a nerd when it comes to make up. But your blog has really inspired me to devote my time on this. Will definitely try M.A.C studio fix as that has tempted me the most. Keep posting so that we get useful tips from a creative person like u.

    Love, Rishu

  6. Great blog! I totally agree with what you said about mascara, its something I can’t live without. How sad haha But I’ll be using some of these tips in the future

Leave a Reply

